top of page

Georgia (O'Keeffe) on My Mind


“Someone else's vision will never be as good as your own vision of your self. Live and die with it 'cause in the end it’s all you have. Lose it and you lose yourself and everything else.” ― Georgia O'Keeffe

I visited the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum in Santa Fe yesterday. Whenever I visit, I feel like Ms. O'Keeffe imprints me with inspiration and a message. Even though she passed on over 30 years ago, her maverick spirit holds and nourishes the landscape of New Mexico. There is something mystical and deeply compelling about this area, and Georgia O'Keeffe fell so in love with it, she packed her bags and relocated here from New York. I get it, I really get it.

While we don't know her birth time, her birthday is November 15, 1887. She was a strong Scorpio woman who used her depth, passion, and power as spirited fuel to give meaning to her art. With Saturn and North Node in LEO, the theme of this month, she had the structural ability to creatively express the images dancing behind her mind's eye.

How did Ms. O'Keeffe harness the energy of Leo? She had COURAGE. She broke gender and societal norms with her independent, don't-give-a-shit-what-you-think attitude. She had the courage to paint what she wanted. She had the courage to follow her heart in marrying her pen pal, Alfred Stieglitz. A woman after my own heart, she was an educator in Canyon, Texas and later a professor at the college level. She moved to New York when Alfred Stieglitz discovered her talent, and after his death in 1946, she moved to New Mexico ALONE.

Did you do the math? She was almost 60 (hello, Saturn Return #2!) when she decided to move to a rural part of New Mexico, a land she felt drawn to though she had never lived there. Almost 60. Alone. New Mexico. 1940's. I am in love with this woman.

She epitomized courage, yet she said, "I've been absolutely terrified every moment of my life - and I've never let it keep me from doing a single thing I wanted to do."

She found a way to merge Saturn in Leo and Sun in Scorpio. Ride the waves of desire and bust through fear with courage. Wow.

In the museum's video documentary of her life, Georgia O'Keeffe said it takes courage to do what she does and sometimes she feels like she "walks on the edge of a knife." But at the end of the day, "I feel like myself, and I like it."

Do you feel like yourself and like it?

Step into your courage, and bust through your walls of fear.

What is holding you back from being more authentic?

From speaking your truth?

From opening your heart to love or leaving a toxic relationship that doesn't serve your highest good?

From starting a new career or moving to a place that is calling your name?

From saying no when you really want to say no?

From getting honest about a habit no longer serving you?

From picking up a paintbrush or trying karaoke?

What excites you? Go do THAT!

No excuses, OK? If Georgia can do it, so can you.

Schedule a reading to learn where to start!

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page